Tags

, ,

wall_of_thorns_by_alexstoneart-d72o8n1-535x266

Every year, Advent reveals something new, uncovers some dimension of Christmas I’ve never seen before. This year, in every celebration, song, and fading winter day, I’m inclined to remember that The Lord has come, yes, but that we are still in a new Advent, waiting for all things to be made new.

I haven’t really been able to put the thoughts to paper, but I remembered something I wrote a few years ago on the best lines of “Joy to the World” that you probably won’t hear playing in the malls. It’s at The Rabbit Room today, “Far as the Curse is Found.”

May the future renewal of Creation give you hope today.

Follow up with RR editor Pete Peterson’s thoughts on “Joy to the World” (and a few other favorite Christmas songs from a guy that hates Christmas music) at Jeff Overstreet’s blog Looking Closer.

