A pair of poems I wrote for the old and the new year. Happy 2013! Grace and Peace to you in the coming year.

11:59



Sixty seconds of darkness.

Hold it tight,

feel time pulse

like a tiny heartbeat.



It smells of new mown grass,

electric-singed wires,

the smoke of fireworks,

the air of concert halls.



If it were the last

sixty seconds before

I followed the old year

into the dark



how would I let it go?



*** 


Midnight



The newness of a year

screams, explodes

into our world

in firework flash.



Like some alabaster jar

cracked open, poured over

to wash the old away,

perfume the new with promise.

Also, super excited to say my little poem “Suadade” was featured in Every Day Poems newsletter today! Read it here. Consider subscribing. It brings much daily joy to my inbox.

And for those who may be visiting via there, welcome! :)

