Something in my head keeps telling me I haven’t written much of anything lately and that I’ve got the dreaded writer’s block. I see I’ve come up with a post every week for the last month or so, but I confess, I’m feeling a little dry.

I pick up the pen and notebook, flip through pages in frustration, get grumpy about the pro writers that seem to come up with something fresh and brilliant every day,* scribble an emo journal entry, and go aimlessly poke around Facebook for an hour. I have a million ideas while I’m going about my days, but by the time I slow down enough to start something, they evaporate. Once again, I’m pushing letters around the page like a little kid that doesn’t want to eat her peas. Honestly, it’s kind of irritating.

This isn’t much, other than to say I’m still here and still trying. Some writers say to suck it up, that writer’s block isn’t real, that’s it’s all in our miserable, self-absorbed heads.

In the words of the good Professor Dumbledore: “Of course it is happening inside your head, Harry, but why on earth should that mean that it is not real?””

Excuse this semi-annual “oh, I’m not writing enough / I’m so lame” rantpost. At least you know now. I hope someone can relate. At any rate, I’ve learned that such whining occasionally gets me unstuck.

* Re: “the pro writers”… I am aware this is a myth and keep reminding myself that even Billy Collins doesn’t write every day. But you know. Writers are good at making stuff up.

***

Vague idea: for the next month or so, I’d like to experiment with posting a little something every weekday, even if it’s dumb or random, even if it’s a video or a quote or something…. all in effort to keep things alive and keep my eyes open. I might have just jinxed myself by announcing this, so feel free to nag me if I don’t stick to it, okay? I give anyone reading this full nagging rights.

