Confession: sometimes while I’m doing important things at work, I take a break now and then to poke around Google Reader. (When I don’t have time to do that, I unleash the power of Twitter’s star/fave button so I can mark things to read later.) This is probably why I catch myself in a writing mood when I’m doing other things, but hey, breaks are good now and then, and one must read to write, so….

I thought it’d be fun to share some of the interesting links and blog posts I’ve found this week. (I must say, I stole this “stuff I’m reading” post idea from Alise Write, a blog I’ve recently discovered and started lurking around. Thanks Alise!) So here we go…

  • Oh, where do I begin with this one? Rachel Held Evans calls for Better Conversations about Biblical Womanhood (Part 1 and Part 2) in response to Tim Challies’ response to her earlier post “Thou Shalt Not Let Thyself Go.” Confused? Start with the last link, and work back for the whole story. The question: are wives responsible to “stay attractive” so their husbands won’t cheat, or is that one more example of unnecessary pressure to conform to a body image? And how far should Christian women go to be attractive without being provocative? Fascinating conversation. (I’m curious to know what my married friends make of all this, since I do not have to worry about “being attractive” for anyone right now. :))
  • I did, however, enjoy this insightful and articulate response to the debate by Tim Ricchuiti. A little long, but worth a read, even if you don’t want to dig through the other four posts in this debate. (A quote: “It seems to me that the last thing these mostly western, mostly American, mostly evangelical Christian women need is another article telling them all the ways that they’re not concerned enough about their appearances.”)
  • Okay, enough of that. Head on to my favorite, The Rabbit Room, for a video of the first ever Rabbit Room Live concert featuring Eric Peters. So nice of them to make this available for those of us who couldn’t be there. Things like this make me want to move to Nashville.
  • On music closer to home… Orlandoans! (and those willing to travel) Rumor has it there’s a great music festival coming our way this November. Intriguing article from Dig Under Rock speculating about the status of Orlando Calling and a wish list of artists to perform. Arcade Fire? Radiohead? Fleet Foxes? Um, yes please! (and AF has never played Florida? What?! So wrong.)
  • Love this poetic retelling of the Prodigal Son, A Man Had Two Daughters, from Becca at The Little Boots Liturgies. So beautiful.
  • Finally, on the creative front… Good Writers Revise Their Writing by Robert Lee Brewer. Why you should put that genius first draft away and revisit it. Preferably multiple times.

Read/watched/listened to anything interesting this week? Or have some links from your blog to share? Let’s hear it!

