Putting it off, and putting it off…. but I found my five sleepy minutes to write for Five Minute Friday. Five minutes of unedited, pure writing just for the sake of seeing what comes out. Head on over to The Gypsy Mama to check out other posts and add your own!

Today’s prompt: If I knew I could, I would…
(Which I misread as “If I could, I would…” There is a difference. Argh. That’s what I get for FMFing when I’m tired! But this is where my brain went, and this is what you get.)

***

Not too long ago, I was going through a box of old papers when I found a crumpled, torn stack of pages. They were handwritten, looked like they’d be hastily ripped from a spiral notebook, the words marked with crossed-out ideas and a scribbly cursive writing.

I had to laugh. It was my “speech” from my high school graduation. (when you’re in a class of 3 homeschool kids, everyone has to talk to stall for time.) It said a lot of thank yous, and a lot of references to that commonly recited verse from Jeremiah — the one about God having a plan for you, “plans to give you a future and a hope.”

That was ten years ago this May. I believed it then. I believe it now, but not quite in the same way.

If I could go back and talk to 17-year-old me, about to step out into a new life of college and work and responsibility, I would let her know a few things. She’d probably roll her eyes at me. I’d tell her there is a plan, and not just the one she’s thinking of, the plan of college then university then work. I’d encourage her to be brave, try things, make friends in college and make a mark. Start writing now. Start doing. Live.

Or maybe I’d just smile and say “good luck.”

***

After all, sometimes you’re better off not knowing…

This is confusing. Maybe I’ll write a real, edited blog post on it someday. :P

