It’s late. I feel like this is the first time I’ve sat down in about a week. That’s an exaggeration, but it seems true.

The past week has been an emotional trainwreck in a number of ways… highs, lows, everything in between. But I don’t feel like getting into the lows. It seems like a late night mental clearing is in order, and what better than to share some things that have helped my survival immensely.

New Review! Jason Gray’s Song Cycles EP
This weekend involved a couple of late night writing sessions, but this is one I was most excited about… been sitting on this record for about a month, dying to get this thing posted to tell you about Jason Gray’s new EP, Song Cycles! It’s an unusual project, but to find out why, you’ll have to read my review. ;) I will say there are remixes involved, but they are not twelve-minute club anthems.

It’s available on iTunes, Jason’s website, and other digital music retailers, but for the real deal, head on over to The Rabbit Room store. They have a limited number of CD copies for the iTunes price + shipping. An outright steal, in my opinion. (and you can feel good knowing you supported the fine Rabbithood as well.) Jason also wrote a blog about the making of the album here.

Paul Simon’s new record So Beautiful or So What streaming on NPR Music.
I confess, I’m a newb when it comes to this musical icon. I liked Simon and Garfunkel songs when I was a kid, but other than maybe hearing the album Bridge Over Troubled Water a time or two and seeing his delightful video “You Can Call Me Al,” I was pretty clueless.

Then I heard Graceland a month or two ago and everything changed. I get it now.

His new record is streaming in its entirety until it releases April 12. And wow, this is some amazing songwriting. What have I been missing all these years?

Rain + Friends + The Mouse
Last Monday (wait. Monday before last. March 28. yeah.) I had a wonderful, rainy, memorable day at Disney with my awesome sister Sherri and our sweet friend Kaitlyn. It basically rained on us the whole time, but it was beyond worth it to spend some fun time with the two of them. Somehow we managed to squeeze all our favorite rides from three parks into roughly 9 hours (whoa.) and finished it off with a good warm dinner and a mini-listening party of the aforementioned Song Cycles. Kaitlyn wrote a blog post yesterday that pretty much sums it up. Rainy Disney World Shenanigans. Yup.

And no, I didn’t forget…
Normally, this is the time of year I start bugging you guys about National Poetry Month and posting poetical things on the blog. I didn’t forget. Just busy and overwhelmed, and haven’t quite figured out how to celebrate yet. Last year I tried (and failed) the Write a Poem a Day thing. The year before, I posted random poems on Thursdays. This year… not so sure.

I am happy to discover poets.org has a list of 30 Ways to Celebrate. And throughout the month, I’ll try to post random poems I discover along the way. If you find something or have ideas, pass it on!

And then there’s 40 Days
It’s the fourth Wednesday since starting 40 Days of Water, and I’ll admit it… I’ve been doing a bad job lately. After getting rained on all day at Disney, I caved and had coffee with dinner. Oh man, was it amazing. (no, actually, it was so-so restaurant coffee, but I chugged like three cups and didn’t sleep much that night). Now I feel like I’m back at square one… fudging on the water-only commitment, justifying a cup of tea here and there. Funny how all those cravings reawaken with just a taste.

I’m sure there’s a Lenten Lesson in there, but I’m too tired to figure out what it is. Little over two weeks to go guys!

Thanks for listening. Srsly. Regular, sensible writing with a point (ha) shall return soon.

