This isn’t technically a book blog, but I guess it could be. I mean, I am a word nerd with a small to-read pile growing on my floor, and I have done a few blog tours and posted a bunch of little geek out and book plug moments. And if we’re talking about making sense out of life around here, then what better way to do that than read a lot of stuff by people smarter than me?

I do keep up with a few book blogs though, and one I’ve enjoyed getting to know in the past few months is My Friend Amy. This week, she’s hosting her first ever themed week around the works of Frederick Buechner, and as a new fan of this author’s work, I figured this was a good time to pretend I have a proper book blog and join the fun. :)

Here’s what Amy has to say about the idea behind this:

I wanted to see what kind of representation he had in the book blogosphere. After all, he has written more than 30 works including fiction, such as Godric which was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize. The answer, according to the book blogger search engine, is not much.

I know this is an unusual theme to take, since he is a writer of faith and largely beloved, I think, for his nonfiction. However, I believe his work is accessible and I’m hoping against hope that some of you will take the plunge and check him out.

So there you have it. I have a post planned to talk about my discovery of this writer and theologian and how I became a fan. Also, Amy was kind enough to send me a copy of his memoir Eyes of the Heart which I’ve been reading and plan to post about sometime really soon this week.

In the meantime, you can follow along at her blog this week for some links to other discussions around the web. I’m hoping along with her that you might be intrigued enough to check out his work.

And now… time to crash. 3.5 hours of sleep has made this an interesting Monday.

