Firstly, thanks are in order for the encouraging words on my last post. Thank you everyone who took the time to read and leave a note to remind me why I do this writing thing. You are wonderful. :) If perhaps you missed it, click on over to find out Why I Hope You Don’t Read My Blog… or at least why I did last week.

Second, an announcement: Div Sense is on Facebook! Do u like me? Check yes or no. (I hope you do… or at least my blog!) Please come visit and like and stay a while, and if you feel so inclined, share the word! One of my goals for the new year is to work toward building a little community around this place, and I’m hoping this is one more way to make that process a little bit easier.

Third, a shameless plug: I have a new interview with Brandon Heath posted at JFH. I haven’t done one of these things since July, so I admit, as usual, I stressed a little beforehand on the questions. And as usual, my stress was stupid, because it turned out to be painless and fun. Brandon’s a cool guy and was gracious enough to chat with me for a while about new music, quirky facts, superpowers, and NASA. Please check it out!

Fourth, I highly recommend you read the newest post at The Rabbit Room, “A Burst of Laughter” Truly lovely thoughts on writing by Mr. Andrew Peterson. This image especially struck me to the core, so resonant, beautiful, and true:

“I am convinced that poets are toddlers in a cathedral, slobbering on wooden blocks and piling them up in the light of the stained glass. We can hardly make anything beautiful that wasn’t beautiful in the first place. We aren’t writers, but gleeful rearrangers of words whose meanings we can’t begin to know. When we manage to make something pretty, it’s only so because we are ourselves a flourish on a greater canvas.”

And I am reminded all over again why this matters.

Currently: I hear the steady drip of raindrops on the tree outside my window, and there are lively Sara Bareilles tunes in my headphones and a mug of green tea by my side. (my new addiction, but at least it’s a healthy one.) This weekend was so full and I didn’t get a sleep-in day, but that’s somehow satisfying.

Went art festing in Mt. Dora with my sister this afternoon. Love to watch her freak out over art. We walked a lot, sipped coffee, explored art booths from veterans and high schoolers alike, and painted on a giant community canvas (still have flakes of yellow on my hand to prove it) And I’m about to go tackle an unfinished poem from months ago, because at some point today I realized how I want it to end.

All in all, I have a feeling I’ll sleep well tonight.

A happy week to you all. :)

