“I used to not like God because God didn’t resolve. That was before any of this happened.”

In my list of life-altering books, Donald Miller’s Blue Like Jazz holds a special place. I discovered this book quite by accident. One evening, stranded at Borders waiting for a ride, I was scanning the shelves and found myself drawn in by the cover and the mysterious title. I settled into a comfy chair to read the first chapter… just to get a feel for it.

By the time my mom arrived to pick me up, I’d blown through half the book. And since it was technically a used book at that point and I was dying to know the ending, I bought it. It now holds a worn-out, marked-up, cracked-spine place on my nightstand next to Traveling Mercies, my Narnia box set, and my journal.

Last year, I read his newest book A Million Miles in a Thousand Years, a book that was partly about making movies and partly about living a better story. I would say I liked this one even better, but there will always be a place in my heart for Blue Like Jazz.

All this is exactly why I was both scared and intrigued by the idea of this beloved book of mine being made into a movie, and even more so, disappointed when I heard that it wasn’t going to happen due to funding.

Seriously? Money? Yes, the big hurdle. Film making is expensive, guys… especially for an indie project that doesn’t meet the typical expectations of a “Christian movie,” but doesn’t hold up to major studio ideas either.

And that’s when the fans stepped in to Save Blue Like Jazz, an ambitious project to raise the $125,000 needed to make this movie a reality. In about a month.

This has the potential to be a wonderful film. Don Miller and Steve Taylor have spent the past two years working on the screenplay, the casting, making sure it stays true to the spirit of the book… and it would be tragic for money to be the only thing to stand in their way.

So, that’s why I’m plugging this project. You can read more about it and, if you think this is something that matters to you, donate at the Save Blue Like Jazz website. It’s a legit operation run through Kickstarter… you pledge whatever you want to donate (every little bit helps!) and you won’t be charged until the goal is met.

And you can say you helped make a movie. How great is that? :)

Here’s a video that explains more:

Save Blue Like Jazz from Save Blue Like Jazz on Vimeo.

