Y’know what? I failed at that Harry Potter Reading Challenge. Utterly. So much for reading them all by July 31st.

But whatever… my new goal is to read them all before Deathly Hallows Part 1 hits theaters. I’ll set my own reading goals, dangit. :P

So… right. I finished Prisoner of Azkaban late the other night… in which we are introduced to Sirius Black and Professor Lupin (best. DADA teacher. ever.), get hints of the source of Snape’s drama, and find out why the heck anyone thought it was a good idea to put a homicidal plant on the Hogwarts campus.

This has always been one of my favorites in the series… odd, because it has quite a few haters, but I don’t care. Sure, the whole time travel bit is very deus ex machina, and there are way too many long, drawn out conversations that solely exist to explain everything (the pub chat, the Shrieking Shack), but… seriously. It marks the beginning of the series’ darker side, and yet is one last fun ride before the ending of Goblet of Fire where everything begins to spiral out of control.

And it’s the last book with a “Quidditch is a wizarding sport, and here is every ridiculous rule just in case you forgot what I said last time” paragraph. Bludgers, Quaffle, Snitch, we get it. Next book, there’s no Quidditch at all. Hooray!

But most importantly: !!!WEREWOLF ACTION!!! Lupin still owns.

I wouldn’t put it as the best of the series (I’m still thinking Order of the Phoenix for that title… unless a second read of Deathly Hallows changes my mind), but I still find it one of the most enjoyable.

Plus, the boggart/Snape-in-a-dress bit still makes me giggle.

