I can’t stop thinking about Haiti.

Ever since hearing about the earthquake, the climbing death toll, the devastation, I can’t stop thinking about it. My friend Melony was there on a mission trip when the earthquake hit (still there, actually), and somehow, I guess that makes it more real to me. She and her group are safe and trying to get home, but I don’t imagine anything could prepare them for this.

And at the same time, I find it strange — and sadly typical — that while thousands have been devastated and are struggling to pick up the pieces, we’re buzzing about Pat Robertson’s commentary. You know… the bit about the nation being so poor and wrecked because of a pact with Satan a couple hundred years ago?

Yeah.

I should be really infuriated by it, but somehow, I’m starting to believe there are deeper things that should concern us. Maybe a little religious-with-a-dash-of-political controversy helps take our minds off the pain? While I certainly don’t want it to appear that he speaks for all of us, at the same time, I’m kind of tired of these controversies popping up every time there’s a disaster and dividing us over ideologies.

I’m tired of these fights that are small skirmishes compared to the greater tragedies. Donald Miller had some pretty good thoughts on the Robertson debacle that I would rather share than add my two cents to the noise. A sane, grace-filled response if I ever saw one.

“Then the singing began. Those gathered outside tents, on lawn chairs, sitting in the middle of empty streets, sang their hymns. One phrase in Creole could be heard repeatedly both inside and outside the hospital walls, as if those voicing the words were trying to make sense of the madness around them.

‘Beni Swa Leternel,’ they sang. ‘Blessed be the Lord.'” (NY Times)

Beautiful things are happening too. Organizations are immediately jumping in with aid, Twitter was abuzz with calls for donations and help and prayer. Hope’s kind of like that, creeping into the darkness to fill it with light. I want to believe that in the end, love and grace win.

I’m sure we all want to help… and I’d encourage you to first, pray. Then give something away… to The Red Cross (you can give $10 just by texting Haiti to 90999!), World Vision, Compassion International, or Samaritan’s Purse to help with the relief effort.

It may not seem like much, but anything and everything helps.

