They say you shouldn’t apologize for the lack of blogging, but just suck it up and start posting again, and try to force yourself to get on a schedule. They say to pick a coherent theme that you (and other people) are passionate about, because you’re going to have to write a lot about whatever it is if you want your stuff read. They say…

Oh, who the heck are “they” anyway? I suppose I should just pretend I did not take the past two-ish months off and go back to doing what I do. Whatever that is.

Um yeah. Hi. :)

At any rate, little breaks are nice, but I’m feeling the writing deprivation, especially since the creative writing class is done and life has become unexpectedly hurried and exhausting. Twitter’s nice, but sometimes 140-characters-or-less Random Dispatches from Jen’s Head just don’t cut it.

I don’t know what I’m rambling about at this point, so here’s something I am passionate about… books! On a friend of a friend’s earnest recommendation, I picked up Jayber Crow by Wendell Berry at the library. Beautiful book… the kind that has taken almost six weeks to read, not because it’s boring, but because it’s the kind of book you really have to dwell in and savor. (Well, that and I don’t just sit down and read nearly enough. Oh, and late fees have not been incurred, though I kind of need to finish it by Saturday.)

I wish it wasn’t a library book, because I would have marked it to death by now with passages I wish I’d written. Case in point:

Troy also became a fierce partisan of the army and the government’s war policy. The war protesters had started making a stir, and the talk in my shop ran pretty much against them…

One Saturday evening, while Troy was waiting his turn in the chair, the subject was started and Troy said — it was about the third thing said — “They ought to round up every one of them sons of bitches and put them right in front of the damned communists, and then whoever killed who, it would be all to the good.”…

It was hard to do, but I quit cutting hair and looked at Troy. I said, “Love your enemies, bless them that curse you, do good to them that hate you.”

Troy jerked his head up and widened his eyes at me. “Where did you get that crap?”

I said, “Jesus Christ.”

And Troy said, “Oh.”

It would have been a great moment in the history of Christianity, except that I did not love Troy.

The whole scene struck me… just the simple wisdom and honesty and humility of it all. And the last three lines? Wow.

I am a believer in the awesomeness of Mr. Berry and his words now.

