So on the last day of March, it seems that the April showers are kicking in a day early around here. I like the rain though. It’s good weather for the bookish, writerly folk… maybe that’s why there are two really neat things for the writers and readers going on in April that you’ll probably hear about on this blog over the next few weeks.

First up… Script Frenzy 2009! I’ve been mentally preparing for about a month now, and I’m still nowhere near ready. Yet I’m still excited to take on the challenge. Chalk it up to overconfidence after successfully winning NaNoWriMo last year, I guess. But I digress.

It’s the same concept as NaNoWriMo, except the object is 100 pages of any kind of script. Screenplay, radio drama, TV shows, stage plays… anything goes, and this time, you can grab a buddy and co-write! So in a stroke of geekiness, my sister and I are teaming up to write the first three issues of a comic series (or is it chapters of a graphic novel? Still figuring that out) that’s been brewing in her head for years, and then when it’s done she’ll supply the art. Fun! I’ve always enjoyed comics, and it’s been a while since I’ve felt free to write something that isn’t trying so hard to be meaningful or literary. Updates are sure to follow, whether you want them or not. :)

If you’ve ever watched a movie and complained about the script, or maybe just wanted to give NaN, why not sign up and join the Frenzy with us? 100 pages of dialogue can go fast, and there’s lovely free software to help with the formatting. It’ll be fun and crazy, but so rewarding in the end.

The second cool thing that you don’t really have to be a writer to appreciate: April is National Poetry Month. I’ve never felt like much of a poet myself (only really able to pull it off if there’s a figurative gun to my head), but I’ve always loved the art of poetry and have so much respect for those that can say things in a few words that would take me a few pages. Sadly, I’m not so sure the writing or reading of poetry gets the acknowledgment it deserves today, but that’s where NPM comes in.

So this month, in honor of NPM, I’ll be sharing the love by posting about some of my favorite, most influential writers and sharing their poems. Hey, maybe I’ll be feeling ambitious enough to come up with some of my own. (Maybe. If Screnzy doesn’t eat my soul first.) If you have some favorite poems you think I should share (including stuff you wrote! :)), please send them my way!

So, comic scripting, poetry blogging, and editing my story manuscript for a second workshop in my creative writing class… yeah, I have a busy, wordy April ahead. Scary, but I wouldn’t have it any other way.

