(or: Why Jen will never be a “fashionista,” or whatever they’re called.)

I know, I swore I would not go anywhere near a place of shopping today, on the Most Blackest of Fridays, but I decided in the end to relent and go to a mall in search of Christmas cards and free entertainment. (Yes, you can get such a thing at the mall, if you think people are as entertaining as I do.)

Somewhere in that chaotic, frantic mess, I spotted several girls sporting something that makes absolutely no sense to me: Fur-lined boots. With super short shorts. In November, in Florida.

I don’t know what possesses people to do this. Am I missing something? Do their legs not get cold? Is it a wardrobe identity crisis, ie: well, it’s Florida, so I’ll wear shorts, but I really should be in fall mode, so hey! These boots look comfy! Or is it, for reasons unbeknownst to this chronically anti-trendy person, a sexy, fashionable thing to do?

If it were just one, I would write it off as individuality and give the thumbs-up. But it wasn’t, so now I’m a little concerned. Come to think of it… maybe I should be more concerned that I’m actually thinking about it enough to sit down and write about it.

Spotted anything random and trendy lately that left you scratching your head? Do vent with me. We’ll all feel better.

And if you are a Eskimo snow-boot + shorts person that I’ve offended, please feel free to flame me and tell me what a loser I am. :)

