I confess. I am horrible about backing up my computer. I own an external hard drive. I’m sure I would cry and be very sad if I lost my photos and stuff I’d written. And I am well aware that my laptop is getting cantankerous in its old age. But I still put these things off, because I procrastinate like that.

And then last night… an ominous black screen with a “No operating system found” error message of doom.

Freak. Out.

No OS? Whyyyyy?! My pictures! My unfinished novel! Oh, the terror and denial and why-oh-why-don’t-I-use-that-stupid-hard-drive! Soon I will be visiting the Geek Squad and begging them to save the poor compy’s life… I know it!

Fortunately, this story has a happy ending. I turned the power on tonight (still in hopeful denial), and everything seems fine. A little hiccup, and all back to normal. Needless to say, I am backing it up now, and it looks like the cantankerous old laptop is safe once more.

I’d like to say I’ve learned my lesson… but I know better than that.

