Sometimes I feel like the most profoundly small, insignificant, uninteresting person on the planet.

I’m pretty sure you’ve felt that way too. (I’d like to believe that it’s normal anyway.)

Everything matters. Every life matters. I believe that completely. But sometimes what you know to be true doesn’t line up with what you’re feeling. It takes something to shake, shove, or nudge you back. Sometimes it takes clouds and a song.

Driving home in the pouring rain, listening to Brooke Fraser’s “Shadowfeet,”I had my reminder somehow. That it really doesn’t matter how I think or feel, because God made me the way I am, and God likes me and Jesus likes me and my family and a few other people I’ve known seem to think I’m okay. That it really doesn’t matter if I’m doing something incredibly “significant” (whatever that is) because for now, where I am is where I need to be.

When time and space are through
I’ll be found in you…

Overly simple? Maybe a bit cheesy or cliche? You bet. But it’s true. And it made me feel a little better, like everything will be okay in the end.

Sure, it’s elementary stuff. The sort of thing I’ve known all along. But sometimes my fickle, insecure, very finite human heart just needs to be reminded…

***

Have you ever seen the sun cracking through a summer storm, or boldly shining in spite of the pouring rain around it? It’s amazing. It’s one of my favorite things about living here. (though I guess it happens other places, but I seem to think of it as a Florida thing.)

“Behind the clouds is the sun still shining.” (Lit nerd points if you know who I’m quoting.)

Look for it next time it rains.

