Recently, I started reading the blog Stuff Christians Like regularly… as someone who’s spent a lot of time in the weird and wonderful world of “Christian Culture,” I find the commentary to funny and true, a little gentle fun-poking without being too mean.

And then I read one of today’s posts and it turned out to be very insightful… something I needed to hear, if only to confirm what I already know to be true:

“I don’t care if you’re Christian, Muslim, Jewish, Mormon, Atheist or Agnostic. I think deep down inside, we all want to be found. We all want someone to come looking for us. We want to be missed. We want people to be glad when they are with us, as if they have arrived. As Radiohead once said, ‘I want you to notice when I’m not around.'”


I’ve been thinking about this quite a bit lately, and someone else summed it up so well. “We all want to be found.” We want — need — to feel chased and missed and wanted and needed.

As Don Miller, one of my favorite writers, put it, like some corner of the world would fall apart without us. (I paraphrase, because I can’t remember the quote, but it was from To Own a Dragon.) And the desire is part of who we are, part of the human condition.

I have a sticky note that says “Everything Matters” tucked in the bottom of my increasingly messy desk drawer. Every now and then, I move the box of unused business cards and post-it pads aside in search of something, and I catch a glimpse of it. So easy to forget, but I know it’s real and true, and I find it more and more each day.

Everything matters. Everyone matters. Every moment, every life is precious to God, and it’s so easy to forget when you get lost in the shuffle and the crowd and the pressure of day to day living.

I’d say more, but it’s already been summed up so nicely, that I leave it here, and encourage you to read the full post at SCL instead.

“I think that is something we Christians forget that we need to be found. We think it’s already happened. We ascribe events to our faith and say things like, “I became a Christian in the fourth grade” or “I gave my life to Christ last year.” I like the present tense better. I like how words like becoming and being and giving, capture that faith isn’t so much an event as it is an experience. It isn’t so much something you do once, but rather something you do. We need to be found. Not once in a single moment of salvation but daily. Hourly even, we need the God of the universe to come running. To find us. To know us and love us.”


I don’t know about you… but sometimes I just need to be reminded of that.

