godspeed noun: good fortune; success (used as a wish to a person starting on a journey, a new venture, etc.).

**

The naming of inanimate objects is a delicate (though occasionally necessary) art. There are just some things in life that you have invested so much in, spent so much time with, and use so often that eventually you’d think they have personalities of their own and really deserve the dignity of being called something better than computer or car or lucky socks.

(There is a point and I am getting there. Stop rolling your eyes and laughing. Yes, you.)

Anyway, I’d just about decided to call my little blue hippie car “Godspeed,” mostly because a song by the same name was the first thing to rumble through my CD player as I drove it off the lot, and it’s a cool word. Oddly appropriate. After the ordeal it’s been through this week, I’d say the choice is confirmed…. “godspeed” is exactly what we both need…

(really long uncut story ahead. you’ve been warned.)

***

Behold, the Monday commute aftermath. Lovely, isn’t it?

The whole thing was really pretty depressing… first real accident and all that. To those who might be reading and don’t know, I have roughly an hour commute to and from work every day. It’s not so bad, actually… I like driving, and it gives me a bit of time to think and listen to music and prepare for the day or unwind after work. This particular commute started innocently enough: a stop by Borders to pick up my new Harry Potter (in which I changed my mind and got coffee instead, because I’d found it cheaper elsewhere) and I’m on my way. Oh, the sky looks pretty icky up ahead. But that’s okay. Same as every other day for the past week. I like rain.

Somewhere in the last 10 miles of the ride, it’s raining pretty badly. Light, but lots of it. Easy enough…. and then next minute… a Toyota Rav4’s brake lights, glaring right into my face.

Slam the brakes. Scream. Screech! Sickening crunch.

And so for the next two hours, Jen gets a crash course (no pun intended) in the art of handling an accident. A 911 call and some questions from the officer later, and I’m watching poor Godspeed get loaded up onto a tow truck. How depressing.

Fortunately, the folks I hit were so incredibly nice about the entire thing. After what I did to their bumper, I would’ve understood if they’d ripped my proverbial head off. Might have deserved it even. But I think there was a lot more laughing and hugging and “it’s okay, your car slid” comments than anything. Apparently, the guy in front of them (who never spoke to me once and was apparently a jerk to everyone else and came out with no scratches so was sent on his merry way thankyouverymuch) randomly decided to stop and turn (U-turn?), so they had to brake quickly. And I had to brake quickly. So I hydroplaned, or something.

All that to say I am carless again. It is sitting in a body shop, awaiting new parts. Basically, the whole front end except the left fender has to be re-constructed, and it could take up to 30 days.

30. Days. Bleh.

Oh, and I got a ticket. Tomorrow, I go visit the courthouse bright and early to take care of the fine and promise I’ll do some traffic school. Double bleh.

I know that I should look at the positive… that nobody was hurt and accidents happen… and be glad the damage wasn’t worse and I’m not in a hospital somewhere. And I do. I really do! It’s only metal… a machine.

But it still sucks. :)

So ends the tragic tale of my exciting Monday. It’s taken a few days to process everything that has happened, and I guess I’m at the point where I can talk, write, and joke about it without getting depressed. It’s still frustrating though.

But I will get by. Oh yes, I will get by.

***

On an ironic note… the song that was playing in my car at the time of impact? “Drive” by Assemblage 23:

“The open road unwinds before me
An onyx ribbon spreading out
No idea where I’ll be going
Sometimes the journey is what counts

Sometimes I drive to run from all my demons
Sometimes I drive so I can be alone
Sometimes I drive to see the world in a different light
Sometimes I drive for no reason at all…”

