So I did indeed survive being Gisele for a week. Ladies and Gentlemen, I am capable of being two people at once! It’s not an easy task, but it can be done. :)

***
“The very first thing I tell my new students on the first day of a workshop is that good writing is about telling the truth. We are a species that needs and wants to understand who we are. Sheep lice do not seem to share this longing, which is one reason they write so very little.” ~ Anne Lamott, Bird by Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life

A couple days ago, I was lamenting to a friend that one thing I really wanted to do in life was to write, but I just didn’t feel the inspiration or have any ideas. At one point, I declared, “It’s not like you get up one morning and go, ‘hmm, I think I’ll write a novel today.'”

He calmly (bluntly?) said something to the effect of, “well, sometimes that’s what you do.”

Ow. Good advice. And it must have worked, because now this weekend I’ve had a mysterious, insatiable urge to write. Perhaps the Writing Fairy decided to visit me in the night and sprinkle Writing Fairy Pixie Dust on my pen. Or I just got a creative spurt. Or maybe it’s because I started reading Bird by Bird and after a chapter or two I realized that I do, indeed, have stories to tell. (Bless you, Ms. Lamott.)

Whatever it is, it’s wonderful, and I’m glad for it. I’ve got a little essay in the works, at least. Hoping that just maybe something good will come of my scribblings soon…

