Once upon a time (actually more like last year), a very extroverted friend said, “Hey, I got a question for you.” She pulled up a chair, looked me straight in the eye, and with serious look of awe and curiousity asked, “What’s it like to be an introvert?”

What indeed? It made me laugh. I fumbled for an explanation, but you can’t explain these things.

But I like it when I find someone who can. When I first read “An Introvert’s Confession” several months ago, I found myself inwardly screaming, “Yes! That’s me! Somebody gets it!”


“Finally, there was no more striving to be the socially confident guy, or to be the outgoing, “evangelistic” Christian, or to be something that was impossible for me to be. I could be me and not only that, but that I, quiet, reflective, socially awkward, introverted me, gave God glory not in spite of all these things but because of them. I was an introvert, and that seemed beautiful to me.”

It has been my experience that people seem to balk at the idea of being considered an introvert… as if it were a bad thing. I guess there’s a part of all of us that wants to be fun and outgoing. Even one dictionary definition I found carries a negative and even slightly condescending tone (“a person who tends to shrink from social contacts and to become preoccupied with their own thoughts” What? :P)

But you know what? Even if the world does favor the agressive, the exciting, the bold… being quiet and reflective isn’t such a bad thing. Maybe the strength is from another place… used in a different way to accomplish a different purpose. I don’t know. I’m still trying to figure out what that is.

I do recommend reading the article. If you’re an introvert, maybe you’ll be screaming that too (inwardly. because we’re quiet like that.) If you’re an extrovert, read it anyway… and maybe the rest of us weirdos will make just a little more sense now. :)

