Last night I picked up my sketchbook for the first time in about a month. Looked at the date on the last sketch (a sheet of pen doodles dated 2/24/07), flipped backward through it, tossed it on the floor in disgust, and felt sorry and emo for my tortured artist self because I haven’t been nurturing my creative soul lately. Unless you count cooking, perhaps…

Or maybe my muse is on an extended vacation. Of course! That’s what it is. Maybe I’ll go break out the pens and have some fun… see what happens. If I had half the artistic energy my sister has, I’d be okay.

That said, here’s a quote on art from the wonderful Ms. L’Engle… just because:

“…there is no denying that the artist is someone who is full of questions, who cries them out in great angst, who discovers rainbow answers in the darkness and then rushes to canvas or paper. An artist is someone who cannot rest, who can never rest as long as there is one suffering creature in this world. Along with Plato’s divine madness there is also divine discontent, a longing to find the melody in the discords of chaos, the rhyme in the cacophany, the surprised smile in time of stress or strain.”
– Madeleine L’Engle

***

In the meantime… car shopping online, but that’s a whole other saga. In fact, found this a couple days ago. Good price. Decent mile count. Perfect colors. I think I’m in love. :)

Now… if only I weren’t so terrified of going into debt… ha.

