Got inspired. Tossed my last.fm chart over into the sidebar there. Call it what you want (“nerdy” comes to mind) but I just love last.fm… I’ll love it even more if iSproggler works like it should and I can get it to display what I’ve played on my iPod, since I play music on that way more than on my computer.

Yeah. Easily entertained music geek. I’ve learned to accept it. :)

***

Another geeky thing: I’ve re-discovered my love for Emily Dickinson lately. I went searching the Internet for some poems to share with a friend who didn’t know her work, and remembered why I always enjoyed her poetry. Rather than try to explain, I’ll just give you a few of my favorites… especially since this blog is named after one of her poems…

Enjoy.

***

I shall know why – when Time is over –
And I have ceased to wonder why –
Christ will explain each separate anguish
In the fair schoolroom of the sky –

He will tell me what “Peter” promised –
And I – for wonder at his woe –
I shall forget the drop of Anguish
That scalds me now – that scalds me now!

***

I’m Nobody! Who are you?
Are you – Nobody – Too?
Then there’s a pair of us!
Don’t tell! they’d advertise – you know!

How dreary – to be – Somebody!
How public – like a Frog –
To tell one’s name – the livelong June –
To an admiring Bog!

***

If I can stop one heart from breaking
I shall not live in vain
If I can ease one Life the Aching
Or cool one Pain

Or help one fainting Robin
Unto his Nest again
I shall not live in Vain.

***

I never saw a moor,
I never saw the sea;
Yet know I how the heather looks,
And what a wave must be.

I never spoke with God,
Nor visited in heaven;
Yet certain am I of the spot
As if the chart were given.

***

TO make a prairie it takes a clover and one bee, —
One clover, and a bee,
And revery.
The revery alone will do
If bees are few

Biography and Works

