“But I have no guarantee of my next heartbeat
And this world’s too big to make a name for myself
And what if no one wants to read about me when I’m gone?
Seems to me that right now’s the only moment that matters…” ~ Chris Rice, “The Power of a Moment”

It is midnight… or is it 1 am? I suppose since DST is about to take back the hour it gave me back in October (and I value sleep) I should be in bed. But the aftereffects of the iced mocha haven’t worn off yet, and this blog needs an intro post.

Ah yes, a new blog… I’ve lost count of how many I’ve created, lost interest in, and deleted in the past year. I try to do the theme thing, but in reality, I’d just like a place for random thoughts without being tied to a strict topic. So what if focused blogs hold readers better? It’s not necessarily about getting a fanbase.

Stop. Back up. Maybe I’d be better off saying welcome, if you found this. Ignore the caffeine-induced opening paragraphs as I tell the story of what this is and why it is.

Yesterday, I was pondering how I could make do something meaningful with my life (as I and many other fresh-out-of-college-twenty-somethings do very often, I’m sure). What can I give back to this world? It’s not that I need to make history. It’s not that I need to be someone else. It’s just that I wonder how I can contribute… give back… do something that I can be proud of.

And then I remembered my first desire… my first love from childhood that all too often got pushed aside in the college years.

Writing.

I’ve always wanted to write. There was a time when if I was asked the infamous “what do you want to be when you grow up?” question, I would answer that I wanted to be a writer. Somewhere along the way, I was finally convinced I needed a sideline, because — surprise! — nobody makes the bestsellers right away. So, I put the dreams of #1 novels aside and took a more sane and secure route: I majored in Radio and Television.

Production, to be precise. You know, below-the-line, creative and/or techie people? Not sales or management.

Way to secure my comfortable upper-middle class life, eh? :) It’s never been about money, you know.

So, skip ahead a few years. I have my degree, and a full-time job as a radio production assistant. And I love it. Radio is incredibly fun, and I feel so fortunate to be where I am. I will probably write about that a lot here (assuming I don’t forget this blog like I did the others!).

But I still have that little dream of writing in the back of my mind… and now that I’m out of college, why not rekindle and pursue the dream?

This isn’t a cohesive, focused blog of one theme. It’s randomness and rambling… and maybe the occasional rant. It’s observations on the world around me. It’s a public glimpse into my personal journal (a habit I’ve really nurtured this past year.) It may even be art and poetry, or just the nonsense that happens when I’ve had too much coffee.

Whatever it is, whatever it evolves into… I hope there might be something worthwhile in it.

Or, as one of my favorite writers of all time put it: “my letter to the world, / That never wrote to me”

And so, as the caffeine wears off, I conclude this random entry. I hope it doesn’t scare potential readers away. Maybe future entries will be more profound… or at least more interesting… :)

Springing forward.

